top of page

Mediterranean flavors, couscous and red quinoa mix vegan salad


This is the vegan version of the Mediterranean version I gave you in the last recipe. I had to make it in a new page as I took such long space for my last recipe.

So lets go and do this!

I mix two parts quinoa (make sure you don't have to presoak it) and one part couscous. When I can find it I use couscous and red quinoa (because it is so pretty). The same directions apply if you use just couscous or quinoa.

Quinoa/couscous mix

1 3/4 Cups of Water or Broth (I like using vegetable broth) 1 Tsp of Olive Oil 1 1/4 Cups of Red Quinoa/Couscous Mixture

In a medium sized pan bring the broth to a boil and add the olive oil, add the couscous/quinoa mix & simmer about 15 minutes until translucent. Cover and take it off the burner. Cooks like rice no need to drain. Wait 5 more minutes before taking off the lid and fluff with a fork.

Quinoa and Couscous Salad 2 Cups of Cooked and Cooled Quinoa and Couscous 1/2 Cup of Chopped Parsley 2 Tbsp. of Chopped Mint 2 Tbsp. of Chopped Basil 1 Clove of Garlic, Minced

2 Tbsp. of sliced Kalamata or black olives

1/4 cup of grape tomatoes

1 cup sliced fresh cucumber

1/4 yellow onion thinly sliced 1/2 Cup of Lemon Juice 1/4 Cup of Olive Oil

Combine all of the ingredients and let set for at least one hour before serving. ***Optional ingredients to add a handful of feta cheese, Also the herbs can be changed depending on what you feel like. You can switch lime juice for the lemon. I really like the idea of sun dried tomatoes, basil, and fresh mozzarella for more of an Italian flare.

Enjoy it!

bottom of page