top of page

Clean eats "Asopao de camarones" (shrimp and rice stew/ soup) with golden potatoes,yellow


It is really cold outside, matter of fact we are under a lot of snow as I write you this! I was in the mood for something warm and delicious in the clean eating style. So I make what is call in Spanish "Asopao de camarones" is thicker than soup but not as creamy as a stew. But this is one of my versions, have shrimp, golden potatoes, carrots and rice with yellow lentils. Everything is organic and healthier, simple and not fattening. It does have a Maryland touch with some of the old bay ingredients in the recipe, now I let you go as I want to eat this delicious bowl with some crusty bread !

Ingredients

2 pounds large or jumbo shrimp clean and peeled (leave 1/3 clean but not peel) 1 tablespoon olive oil 1 big yellow onion diced 3 mashed garlic 1/4 cup roasted red peppers diced 1 tablespoon parsley 2 cups organic crushed tomatoes 2 liters water 2 big golden potatoes cut in cubes 2 big carrots in thick slices 1 can organic vegetable broth or 2 cups of my recipe of shrimp stock 2 cups of white rice 1/2 cup of yellow lentils 3 tablespoon tomato sauce 1 teaspoon salt 1 1/2 teaspoon of my clean eats version of sazon seasoning recipe

1 tablespoon of my clean eats version of Old bay seasoning recipe (optional) but really make it so good and spicy) salt and pepper to taste

Instrucciones

In a medium pot heat the olive oil, add the onion and the garlic and sauté over low heat for 5 minutes, being careful not to burn the garlic. Add the peppers and the parsley, add the 1/3 of the unpeeled shrimp into the pot. Cook moving until the shrimp skin turns pink. Add the crushed tomatoes, the tomatoes sauce, all the seasonings and mix everything. Now add the potatoes and the lentils, the salt and the water and get it to a boil. Cover and cook over medium/low heat until lentils are almost soft. Add the peeled shrimp, the carrots, the rice and mix again. Cover and keep cooking at the same temperature until the shrimp is pink, now add the shrimp stock or the can of vegetable broth. Season again to taste.

Remember the rice doubles in size. You don't have to keep cooking until is also most no liquid, as soon as It is a little thicker and still soupy you can get it off the heat. It will keep getting thicker as the rice and lentil keep absorbing the liquids, you can add more liquids later if it gets too thick.

enjoy it! ** The reason I use 1/3 of the shrimp with the shells on is to make the base of the soup with as shrimp stock impromptu, in case you don't have it done. When I am out of shrimp of fish stock in my freezer, I do it this way and get to have it fresh and fast, I add later a can of vegetable broth to get more liquid and flavor ad. Anyways, the shrimp that stays with the skin on, goes always on my plate and I eat them at the end of my soup like I would eat steam shrimp! For others, I serve them the peeled ones. Remember all the shrimps is well clean as normally you would. (slit in the back and take out the dark veins and rinse)

bottom of page