top of page

Clean eats "Old bay" Flavors seasoning


Not all the ingredients in the image are use in this recipe.

Old bay is a seasoning typical of my hometown Maryland. We eat it not only with our famous blue crabs but with all kind of sea foods and stews/soups. I love it ! So I try to make a homemade version to have a fresh bash when I need it.

This one was a hard one, I try different versions I found and was not please with each one at once, what one was lacking the other had to much, So I try to work on it until taste as closer as I could. This work for me...Give it a try!

I try it and is up there!

Yield: 1/2 cup

Ingredients

2 tablespoons bay leaf powder 2 tablespoons celery salt (or 1 tbls. ground celery seed and 1 tbls. salt) 1 tablespoon dry mustard 2 teaspoons ground black pepper 2 teaspoons ground ginger 2 teaspoons sweet paprika (smoked paprika is even better if you can find it!) 1 teaspoon white pepper 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg 1 teaspoon ground cloves 1 teaspoon ground allspice 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes 1/2 teaspoon ground mace 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preparation Combine thoroughly and store in sealed container

bottom of page