top of page

French onion soup with mushrooms, clean eats style


It is cloudy and cold outside even thou we are supposed to be starting Spring this week. I am writing, working inside in my sweats, with glasses and socks. For me feels like a soup day, but even thou my taste buds ask me for something flavorful. My body wants something light, delicate and maybe a little toast with bubbling cheese. I thought onion soup!

Then I saw all the mushrooms I had and fancy them too. And I thought, why not?

If you've never had mushrooms in a French onion soup before then you're in for a treat! This easy French onion soup gets its rich, deep flavor from caramelized onions and lots of delicious mushrooms, I used a blend of Shitake, Oyster and Baby bella. They're a delicious delicate addition. Especially if you make it all vegetarian by using vegetable broth like I did. The classic French onion soup is made with beef broth and even though I prefer vegetarian broth, if you are a meat eater, you can still have a clean eats super delicious soup keep it original, and you can use only Bella mushrooms if you want.

I do make the toasts under the broiler with a little of olive oil infuse with garlic and then top them with provolone and keep them under the broiler until the cheese bubbles and then toss them in each plate just right before serving it.

Please, take the proper time for the onions caramelize properly. It may take a while, but the flavorful result is well worth it. I use provolone because I feel with this recipe the flavor and texture are the more appropriate but feel free to use your favorite. I don't keep alcohol at my house except for the odd leftover wine from a tasting or recipe. But if you have Brandy, a tablespoon or two to this recipe it will make the flavors stand out.

This mushroom soup recipe is a fun twist on an old classic. Try it!

Recommended mushrooms: Baby Bella, Oyster and Shitake, I used the more delicate wild mushrooms because I used vegetable broth. For a more heartier version use: Cremona, White buttons, and Portobello and beef broth. Ingredients:

1 lb mushrooms, cleaned and chopped 2 tablespoons butter (or olive oil) 4 cups yellow onions, quartered 4 cloves garlic, minced 4 cups broth (beef is traditional, but you can use chicken or vegetable) 1 cup white wine French Bread toasts (optional) Slices of Provolone or cheese of your choice Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

We'll begin by caramelizing the onions. Melt a tablespoon of real butter in a large soup pot over medium-high heat. Add onions and cook until they're soft and brown. Reduce the heat to low. Let the onions cook until they're brown and caramelized, about 40 - 50 more minutes while stirring occasionally. When they're done, transfer them to a bowl. Bring the heat back up to medium-high and melt the other tablespoon of butter in the same soup pot. Add the mushrooms and garlic and cook about 10 minutes. Add the onions back into the pot along with the wine and broth. Bring the mixture to a boil, and then reduce the heat to low and simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour. Top each plate with a toast with melted cheese and serve hot. Yum! Variations:

Classic French onion soup is often made with vinegar, cognac, or sherry. Choose one, and add 3 tablespoons when you pour in the stock. If you miss spices, thyme and parsley are good additions. Add them in 1/2 teaspoon increments to your liking. Add a teaspoon of either Tamari soy or organic Worcestershire sauce at the end.

Enjoy it!

bottom of page