top of page

Jamaican fresh mango & avocado salad with a spicy orange & lemon dressing


This is a delicious fresh tasting salad. I come up with it in a day that I was tired of everything I had that week. And I think is perfect for warmer days. Load of surprises. Fruits and vegetables sing with the flavors of Caribbean sun. Sweets and spices together make it really taste like a holiday. I pair mine with a tilapia fillet, but it goes with salmon, shrimp, lobster or anything you want to pair it with. Even alone!

Ingredients

6 cups iceberg lettuce sliced 1 mango, peeled and cut into long slices 1 avocado, peeled and sliced ½ red onion, sliced or diced

1/2 green bell pepper thinly sliced 1 tbsp. lime juice

2 roma tomatoes cut in 4 pieces each

For the my spicy Jamaican vibes orange dressing:

1 tbs champagne vinegar, can also use cider vinegar or lemon juice ( I used lemon juice in this one) 4 tbs orange juice, about ½ orange 2 tbs lime juice, about ½ lime 4 tbs olive oil ½ tsp cumin 2 tbs finely chopped cilantro 1 teaspoon of red chili pepper flakes ( or to taste ) or better a little bit of hot habanero pepper, thinly sliced (I didn't have the habanero pepper on hand so I used the chili pepper flakes, still was delicious. *caution: Habanero peppers are super spicy, use with caution and wear gloves to slice it) Salt and pepper

Instructions

Combine all the ingredients for the salad dressing in a jar, close it tight and shake until the ingredients are well mixed. Soak the onion and green pepper slices in warm water with a dash of salt and 1 tbs lime juice for about 10 minutes. Rinse and drain the onions and green pepper slices. Toss the iceberg lettuce with half of the vinaigrette. Add the avocado slices, mango slices and onion and green pepper slices to the lettuce mix, drizzle the remaining vinaigrette on top. Serve immediately.

I serve mine with a tilapia fillet. I just seasoned it with a little salt and fresh ground pepper and dust it in a little flour and cooked in a hot pan drizzle with a little olive oil.

Enjoy it!

bottom of page